Deepika Padukone, Diya Mirza, Harbhajan Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Neha Dhupia at Sahara Sports Awards in Bollywood Awards.
Sahara India Pariwar developed the awards, with an intention to bring together all sports, including those which are very popular and also those which are not so popular, together on a common platform to recognize and honour the achievements of Indian sportspersons. The first ‘Sahara Indian Sports Awards’ was graced by Indian Sporting Legends like: Sunil Gavaskar, (Cricket), Dhanraj Pillai (Hockey), Ms. Anju Bobby George (Athletics), Ms. Ashwini Nachappa (Athletics), Dilip Vengsarkar (Cricket), I.M. Vijayan (Football), Kamlesh Mehta (Table Tennis), Mehrwan Daruwalla (Squash), Michael Ferreira (Billiards), Nandan Bal (Tennis), Praveen Thipsay (Chess), Pullela Gopichand (Badminton), Vikramjit Singh (Golf).
The award ceremony also witnessed all the nominees like Saina Nehwal, Mary Kom, Ishant Sharma, Abhinav Bindra, Jeev Milkha Singh, Vishwanathan Anand, M. S. Dhoni, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Yuki Bhamri and many more.
Two special categories were honored & felicitated in the awards ceremony:

1. Legend Honour: Padma Prakash Padukone: Arjuna Award winner and one of the noted Badminton player of India who have won the Danish, Swedish Open and the coveted men's singles title at the All England Championship was felicitated and honored by Sahara India Pariwar

2. Unsung Hero: Sylvanus Dung Dung : A prolific former field hockey player from India. He has been a Gold medalist in Moscow Olympics in 1980. He successfully coached the central Command team from Lucknow to the four sequentially triumphs in the Army Hockey Championship. Sahara India Pariwar felicitated him with a monetary incentive of Rs 5 Lakhs for his outstanding contribution to Indian Hockey.

Deepika Padukone at Sahara India Sports Awards
Deepika Padukone

categories: edit post


eXTReMe Tracker